Latest News


The presidential election of 2022 is going to be the 15th presidential election going to be held in India. Ram Nath Kovind is the current president of India. Article 56 (1) of the Indian constitution states that President shall hold office for a term of 5 years from the date he enters the office.

The election poll for the post of president is scheduled to be held on 18th July and the counting of votes will be done on 21st July and the term of President Ram Nath Kovind will end on 24th July.

Schedule of Presidential Poll

  • 15th June: Notification for the election
  • 29th June: Last date for the nomination
  • 30th June: Scrutiny of nomination
  • 18th July: Polling
  • 21st July: Counting

On 21st June 2022, Draupadi Murmu was chosen by NDA as its presidential candidate and former leader of AITC Yashwant Sinha was chosen by UPA and other opposition parties (NCP, Samajwadi Party, TMC, National conference, CPI, AIMIM, CPI – M, AIUDF and RJD. The election is held with proportional representation by the means of a single transferable vote and voting is done by secret ballot.

For the nomination of a candidate for the presidential election has to make a security deposit of Rs. 15000 and this deposit is forfeited if the candidate will fail in securing 1/ 6th of the voted poll. The oath of office of the President is administered by the Chief Justice of India. The executive power of the Union is vested in the President of India. President is the Supreme Commander of the defense forces (Army, Navy, and Air force) of India. He can promulgate ordinances when parliament is not in session (according to article 123 of the Indian Constitution).

All the disputes and doubts related to the Presidential election are enquired by Supreme Court whose decision is final.

  • Article 58 of the Indian Constitution describes the eligibility criteria for the Presidential election:
  • The candidate should be a citizen of India,
  • The person should not be less than 35 years of age,
  • The person should be qualified for the election as a member of the House of the People,
  • The person should not hold any office of profit.

Electoral collage of Presidential Election

Electoral collage for the election of President consists of elected members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha and elected members of Legislative assembly of states and Legislative assemblies of Delhi, Puducherry, and Jammu and Kashmir.

Draupadi Murmu

The political career of 64-year-old Draupadi Murmu started as a councilor and then she became Vice – Chairman of the Rairangpur National Advisory Council. Draupadi Murmu is the 1st woman Governor of Jharkhand.

Yashwant Sinha

Former IAS officer, Yashwant Sinha joined active politics in the year of 1984. In 1986, Yashwant Sinha was appointed as Janta Party’s All India General Secretary. In 1988, he was elected as a Rajya Sabha member and worked as a finance minister between November 1990 to June 1991. From 1992 to 2018 he was a member of the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP). During Atal Bihari Vajpayee government he served as the external minister.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button