Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022: Live Stream Details

ICC Women’s World Cup – 2022 live stream can be watched on Disney+ Hotstar, Channels Star Sports Network – Star Sports 2 HD (English), Star Sports 2, Star Sports 3 (Hindi).

Schedule of Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022

⦁ 4th March – New Zealand vs West Indies
⦁ 5th March – Bangladesh vs South Africa, Australia vs England
⦁ 6th March – India vs Pakistan
⦁ 7th March – New Zealand vs Bangladesh
⦁ 8th March – Australia vs Pakistan
⦁ 9th March – West Indies vs England
⦁ 10th March – India vs New Zealand
⦁ 11th March – Pakistan vs South Africa
⦁ 12th March – West Indies vs India
⦁ 13th March – New Zealand vs Australia
⦁ 14th March – Pakistan vs Bangladesh, South Africa vs England
⦁ 15th March – Australia vs West Indies
⦁ 16th March – England vs India
⦁ 17th March – New Zealand vs South Africa
⦁ 18th March – Bangladesh vs West Indies
⦁ 19th March – India vs Australia
⦁ 20th March – New Zealand vs England
⦁ 21st March – West Indies vs Pakistan
⦁ 22nd March – India vs Bangladesh, South Africa vs Australia
⦁ 24th March – South Africa vs West Indies
⦁ 25th March – Bangladesh vs Australia
⦁ 26th March – New Zealand vs Pakistan
⦁ 27th March – England vs Bangladesh, India vs South Africa
⦁ 30th March – Semi-Final 1
⦁ 31st March – Semi-Final 2
⦁ 3rd April – Final

Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Deepti Sharma Set for Promotion to Grade A

Spin bowler Rajeshwari Gayakwad and all-rounder Deepti Sharma are set to be promoted in Grade A in central contracts for women’s cricketers for season 2021 – 22.

BCCI has three categories for women cricketers

⦁ Grade A in which remuneration is Rs. 50 Lakh.
⦁ Grade B in which remuneration is Rs. 30 Lakh.
⦁ Grade C in which remuneration is Rs. 10 Lakh.

24 year Deepti Sharma and 30-year Rajeshwari Gayakwad have shown good form in recent matches and hence merited promotion.

Women’s Central Contracts:

Grade A: Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Deepti Sharma.
Grade B: Mithali Raj, Tanya Bhatia, Jhulan Goswami, Pooja Vastrakar, Shafali Verma.
Grade C: Poonam Raut, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shikha Pandey, Harleen Deol, Arundhati Reddy, Richa Ghosh, Sneh Rana.

India’s Journey at the Women’s ODI World Cup

In the last few years, the Indian women’s cricket team has done very well in ODI games and reached the final in the 2017 ODI world cup as well as in the T20 world cup 2020 and reached in semi-finals in T20 world cup 2018.


Indian women’s cricket team made debut from 1978 world cup and India hosted the tournament. Only 4 teams participated in the World cup that year India, England, New Zealand, and Australia. India with Diana Edulji as captain could not win any match.


This world cup tournament was hosted by New Zealand for the first time and five teams participated in this tournament. Once again Australia became the champion.


India missed the World cup 1988 tournament and returned in the 1993 World cup tournament with Diana Edulji captaining the Indian team. After winning 1st game in the tournament against West Indies, India was defeated by Australia, New Zealand, and England. India finished at 4th on the rank table and the tournament was won by the UK.


This was the 2nd time when India was hosting the tournament and a total of 11 teams participated in this tournament which spilt into 2 groups. In this edition of the tournament, the games were reduced to 50 overs from 60 overs. Pramila Bhatt was the captain of India in Group B with the West Indies, New Zealand, Netherlands, and Sri Lanka. India lost in the semi-final by Australia held in Delhi by 19 runs. That was the best performance of the Indian women’s cricket team in the tournament until now.


New Zealand hosted this tournament. India started with winning a few matches but lost against kiwis in the semi-final. This tournament was also won by Australia. It was 1st World cup of Mithali Raj with 152 runs in three matches.


Mithali Raj captained India 5year later in her first appearance in South Africa and helped the team to finish as a runner-up for the first time. Australia again won the tournament. Mithali scored 199 runs in 7 innings with an average of 49. 75.


This tournament was held in Australia but was not as expected and the team just managed to get into Super 6s. India was in Group B but finishes after England with 2 wins out of 3 matches. In the Super 6s, India won against West Indies and Australia but lost to New Zealand. Therefore New Zealand and England moved to the final.


World cup 2013 held in India, Indian team expected for a better result but the reverse happened for them because they were knocked out in group stage.


This tournament was held in the UK, India again finishes as runner up by losing to England in the final. Harmanpreet Kaur’s assault on Australian bowler in the semi-final was the key highlight of the tournament and this tournament brought more spotlight on women’s cricket in India. After the World cup 2017, Mithali got the title of highest run-getter in Women’s ODI.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button